

December 3, 2001

Citizen Task Mr. Norman Leyh Executive Director Cattaraugus County Industrial Development Agency 3 East Washington St. Ellicottville, NY 14731

Force

Dear Mr. Leyh:

I am writing on behalf of the West Valley Citizen Task Force to ask that the Cattaraugus County Industrial Development Agency become involved in the efforts of our Future Site Use Work Group. The Future Site Use Work Group is investigating possible options for the beneficial reuse of the West Valley site located in the Town of Ashford, NY. The Task Force appreciates your attending the November 8<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Work Group.

At the November 8<sup>th</sup> Work Group meeting, the members asked that I invite you (or another appropriate member of your agency) to:

- < Attend the next Future Site Use Work Group meeting to be held on December 10<sup>th</sup> at 7:00 p.m. at the Ashford Office Complex, in West Valley, NY;
- < Serve on the Future Site Use Work Group as they explore beneficial reuse opportunities for the West Valley site;
- < Assist the Work Group to develop a scope of work and request for proposal for a reuse study and plan; and
- < Share your knowledge of methods to finance preparation of a reuse study/plan.

The Cattaraugus County Inducstrial Development Agency has the knowledge and skills which the Work Group needs to help identify and attract beneficial reuse options which are economically and environmentally sound and acceptable to the surrounding communities. Thus, we hope that your agency will continue active involvement with the Work Group. I look forward to seeing you on December 10<sup>th</sup>. If you have any questions please call me at (716) 942-6016.

Sincerely,

William King
West Valley Citizen Task Force

cc: West Valley CTF Members
Paul Piciulo, NYSERDA
Alice Williams, DOE
Melinda Holland, Holland and Associates



cc: U.S. Senator Charles Schumer

U.S. Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton

U.S. Representative Amory Houghton

U.S. Representative Thomas Reynolds

U.S. Representative Jack Quinn

U.S. Representative Louise Slaughter

Bob Warther, DOE

Elizabeth Lowes, DOE

T.J. Jackson, DOE

Peter Smith, NYSERDA

Paul Piciulo, NYSERDA

Chad Glenn, NRC

Jeanette Eng, EPA

Tim Rice, NYSDEC

CTF Mailing List (without enclosures)